0. Hi 👋

0. Hi 👋

·

2 min read

“To learn without thinking is confusing; to think without learning is dangerous.”

After almost five years of studying and living in Australia, I returned to China for work after graduation (from ANU) at the end of April last year (2021).

For my study, I did a double degree in mathematics and CS. I was especially fascinated by logic, algebra, and just the concept of abstractions and how incredibly beautiful and important they are.

While the double degree provided me with a rigorous training in mathematical logic, due the nature of having to take both math and CS courses, I lacked some proper/further training in CS. Some of these include

  • OS
  • Distributed Systems
  • Graphics
  • ...

Though, my day job is to develop cloud and big data platforms as a frontend engineer, which doesn’t necessarily require me to grasp these concepts per se. I do believe it is extremely important to get the fundamentals right and get inspired at the same time. After all, these are important areas that so many talented and diligent minds have contributed to. I intend to, as I do my day job, also take the time to learn the fundamentals and the brilliant projects out there (especially the open-source ones).

This also brings me to this blog. I've always admired the girls and the boys who have shared their knowledge and experiences via the internet. During my study, I also felt empowered and encouraged by the study groups that I joined. So, for this blog, I want to join the girls and the boys to share what I’ve learned. If you can benefit from it even just a little bit, my time will have been well spent.

In addition, I'd also like to use it to as a place for self-reflection as I navigate life through trials and errors.

All views and mistakes are mine. I welcome your feedbacks and messages.

Peace ✌️